Commonly Used Terms and Acronyms


Daily jargon and the “alphabet soup” of acronyms are often confusing.  Here is a list of some frequently used terms.

Area Median Income (AMI)

Annual Homeless Assessment Report (AHAR)

Annual Progress Report (APR)

Chronic Homelessness

Community Development Block Grant (CDBG)

Continuum of Care (CoC)

Coordinated Assessment

Coordinated Entry

Disabling Condition

Domestic Violence (DV)

Emergency Shelter (ES)

Emergency Solutions Grant (ESG)

Fair Market Rate/Rent (FMR)

Federal Poverty Level (FPL)

Functional Zero

Homeless Emergency Assistance and Rapid Transition to Housing Act (HEARTH Act)

Homeless Management Information System (HMIS)

Housing and Urban Development (HUD)

Housing First

Housing Inventory Chart (HIC)

Housing Opportunities for Persons with AIDS (HOPWA)

McKinney-Vento Act

Notice of Funding Availability (NOFA)

Orange Card

Projects for Assistance in Transition from Homelessness (PATH)

Point in Time Count (PITC)

Permanent Supportive Housing (PSH)

Rapid Re-housing (RRH)

Request for Proposal (RFP)

SSI-SSDI Outreach, Access, and Recovery Program (SOAR)

Social Security Disabilities Insurance (SSDI)

Special Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP)

Supportive Services for Veteran Families Program (SSVF)

Supplemental Security Income (SSI)

Transitional Housing (TH)

Unaccompanied Youth

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS)

U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD)

Veterans Affairs Supportive Housing (VASH)

Women, Infants and Children (WIC)

Work First